Hunting Rifle & Scope setup

Discussion in 'The Powder Keg' started by Turbolover, May 6, 2008.

1. Turbolover

Turbolover Guest

I'm new to hunting, and all it's aspects... So I was just wondering if someone could help me figure out what I should get. I'm looking to spend under $1,000 for rifle (so far I've looked at the savage 110), and scope (I've looked into Bushnell's banner, and trophy) + scope rings, ect. I will be using this for hunting everything from deer to elk. So I figure a 30-06 is a fairly good caliber, am I correct? I would be very appreciative for any information. As I said I'm very new to this so any, and all info is appreciated. One thing is, I would really like to clarify if having a multi zoom scope effects shot placement? Thank you.

Last edited: May 6, 2008
  2. Turbolover 1st. allow me to WELCOME you to GUN and GAME feller !!!
    The 30-06 will do a job on both critters BUT I've never hunted ELK so Let's see what many of the more knoledgable members say.

When you go to looking for the rifle would you do something for me ?
    Would you check out the new Ruger hawkeye boltaction rifles please sir.
    I bought the synthectic stock/ matte stainless model in 308 and let me tell you it is bullet hole acurate.
    Ruger did an exstensive upgrade to there former boltaction.
    Try your best to hold one in your hands, heft it up to your shoulder like your gonna shoot it.
    Check out the mauser style action and it comes with scope rings too.
    I honestly think after looking at several other fine brands you'll choose the Ruger.

Please let us know what you buy and No I don't own stock in Ruger, I'm just passing on something great to you...A.H

EDIT Ruger is 100% American Made !!!!!

Last edited: May 7, 2008

3. Turbolover

Turbolover Guest

Thank you very much, you couldn't suggest a scope for it could you?

4. Big Tool

Big Tool G&G Newbie

MS