close

Privacy guaranteed - Your email is not shared with anyone.

i got questions?

Discussion in 'The Powder Keg' started by rookie, Mar 24, 2002.

1. rookie

rookie G&G Newbie

Hello everybody,
    i have no experience with guns...i turn 21 this summer and want to get a handgun. I already got my foid card so i'm set there. i eventually want to go into law enforcement and I am looking for a gun to learn on and practice my shooting. What would you recomend???? Where is the best place to look for guns??? How much can i plan on spending on a gun?? Should i subscribe to any handgun mags to help with educating me about handguns? if so, which is the best???
    thanks for any help or advice...don't worry i will have more questions!!!

2. Klaus

Klaus G&G Newbie

Ruger makes a nice .22 pistol that is great for practice. I think it is called a .22/45. It has a 1911 .45 style grip. For a service gun, I would recommend Glock, Mauser, CZ, Sig, and Walther. I am kinda partial to the .40 SW, but .45 acp and .357 Sig are good too. They are a bit pricey, though. I have heard many good tings about the Ruger semiautomatic pistols. 9mm still works, if you get a good deal on the gun, but it is not as effective as the others I mentioned. I strongly recommend taking some shooting and safety courses. For concealed carry, you can get a used AMT Backup, a derringer, Makarov, or one of the Kel-Tecs.

3. wes

wes G&G Newbie