Is Savage Accu-trigger worth it?

Discussion in 'General Rifle' started by aandabooks, Aug 17, 2010.

1. aandabooks

aandabooks G&G Newbie

I am looking for my first rifle and I'm thinking a Savage .223. I've handled them some at a couple of different stores but I was wondering if the accutrigger is worth the cost upgrade? With the accutrigger seems to put a Savage rifle into the $500 range and without backs them down to as low as $300. Both numbers without scopes.

I have been hunting with shotguns of all makes for over 20 years and have shot many thousands of rounds of .22 over the years. Have never paid much attention to the trigger pull weights or the benefits of one trigger over another.

I've shot my FILs .223 in the past to kill hogs and a few rounds for fun but being in Illinois, there is not much need for larger caliber rifles for hunting. Now I've decided to start hunting coyotes on my property to thin them for the deer herd.

So for someone like myself, is the accutrigger worth it or am I better off investing in a better scope?

2. minnesotagunner

minnesotagunner G&G Newbie

i guess it depends. if you really arent doing any target shooting. if you are really set on a gun that doesnt have it i dont think you will be disappointed but after having it you will like it.

it makes it easy to adjust and gives you a light and clean trigger pull. i myself am looking into getting a 12 fvss in the future. all in all if you are just hunting with it and are going for something light and handy i wouldnt think it will make a difference.

3. dman24

dman24 G&G Newbie