close

Privacy guaranteed - Your email is not shared with anyone.

Lee Enfields #4's

Discussion in 'The Powder Keg' started by Charlie, May 5, 2002.

1. Charlie

Charlie G&G Newbie

Indy
    Ok guys, whats a good #4? Fazakerley,Long Branch, etc......and why. I'm new to enfields but got the bug bad.

2. Jesse

Jesse G&G Newbie Forum Contributor

OK, all the #4's are good as long as you check a few things: headspace... this must be checked on any Enfield you shoot with a headspace gague (Brownell's has them). The barrel... the barrel should (for a good shooter), have a shiny bore with little or no frost. The bore should also be calibrated if you have the chance... some #4's were oversized in the bore, but this is more common among #1 MK3's. The bolt head should be checked as well as the extractor. A #0 or 1 bolt head means (if your rifle headspaces ok) that your chamber has much life left. A #2 or 3 bolt head means your chamber has some life left but will need the barrel turned back with continued shooting to rechamber the headspace. The extractor needs checking to make sure it works properly.

The Longbranches are beautiful #4's and if they are close to mint, will have a nice blued finish. The Fazakerlys will usually be painted black. Both are fine rifles. If it were me, I'd look for a postwar Longbranch or a #4 MK 1/2, #4 MK1/3, or a #4 MK2 Fazakerly. The previous models mentioned were postwar conversions to the #4 MK1's trigger and triggerguard to make them more reliable. The #4 MK 1 RFI's (India) are fine shooters also. I have found all different grooved barrels (2 groove, 5 groove,ect.) to be accurate.

Get some non-corrosive .303 from Aim Surplus while you can.

Enjoy!

Jesse

3. Jesse

4. Charlie

Charlie G&G Newbie

Indy
    Thanks for the information. I think I let a near mint Longbranch get away today - 1954 and it was blued and had no wear that I could find. The stock had normal dings.

5. Jesse