Gun and Game Forum banner

1 - 20 of 26 Posts

·
Registered
6,049 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
at the last garand match, one of my fellow shooters saw the lubriplate ( white assembly lube ) on my garand op-rod and told me I was out of my mind for using heavy grease on a garand, of course Im no expert, and the guy is a well known gun snob, he also told me to lightly lube the gas vent piston, not sure of the proper nomenclature I said ok, but this does not seem right to me, it seems the assembly should be dry to me. Is lubriplate ok for the op rod and should the gas valve be dry

·
Registered
886 Posts
7mmag6 - Lubriplate was chosen, by Springfield Armory, Springfield, Massachussets (the United States Government Armory), as the correct grease for the M1 Garand, and it usually comes in the little plastic bottles(?) that fit into the buttstock with the cleaning kit, and oiler. Lubriplate was kind of superseded by the gun grease that you can find in the same little plastic bottles(?), for the M-14, except instead of being whitish yellow, it looks more like axle grease (axle grease will work, too!). For normal temperatures (20 Degrees F. to 130 Degrees F.), the Lubriplate or the gun grease are exactly what you should use.

If you do not have Lubriplate, or the other (Government specified) gun grease, then there are several greases that are available through gun stores (Hoppes #9 Gun Grease comes to mind), that will work.

The M1 Garand system is a machine, and machines need to be lubed with grease. Oil is for cleaning and coating the metal surfaces to prevent rust, and except for -10 Degrees F. to about +10 Degrees F. it will not provide adequate lubrication for the machine.

DO NOT LUBE THE GAS CYLINDER, PERIOD!!! It is OK to wipe out the Gas Cylinder, and other parts of that system with a very lightly oiled cleaning patch for long term storage, but when you plan to shoot it you must then wipe it dry, before shooting.