Gun and Game Forum banner
1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
294 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
i am new to the SKS world. i am looking to get one but i dont know what to look for in a sks when buying one.

i have heard of the following names

Norinco
Chinese 56
Romanian
Albanian
Yugo 59/66

which brand is better to go with i know yugos are known for their toughness and i have seen on the site that the Norinco and Chinese are good for their better accuracy

also when buying a sks what do i look for like problem spots i have heard that the yugos have a gas valve problem and is a chrome barrel more accurate than a none chrome barrel

i m looking forward to see what u ya ll have to say very eager to learn anything about guns
scoutman

·
Registered
406 Posts
Norinco is what I just got. I like it. It has a chrome lined barrel. All but the Yugo's also have chrome lined barrels. If I understand correctly the Albanian has a milled receiver. Chrome barrels are better. They hold up to more abuse and are easier to maintain. You want to check them all out before you but one no matter what but from what I hear check the gas tube cause it is overlooked in cleaning. You shouldn't have too much trouble finding a good one but I would take a Norinco or a Russian over the Yugo anyday. They all can be very nice guns though if taken care of properly. They don't import any of them now except for the Yugo. Good luck with your decision.

Oh also check the stock for looseness. and verify that it's a numbers matching gun. The magazine is also best when left stock. most have a 10 round fixed some have a 20 round. Don't let anyone tell you that it is worth more cause it has a synthetic stock or detachable magazine. You can get those items if you want for a very reasonable price later if you really want to change them.

All that being said have you been looking at any and what kinda prices are they asking?

·
Resident Sasquatch
9,496 Posts