Gun and Game Forum banner
1 - 16 of 16 Posts

·
Registered
1 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hey all.

I'm brand new to hunting, guns etc... The only gun I've ever had is a (rather powerful) pellet gun.

Anyways, rather than getting something modern, I was thinking it'd be awesome to get a WW2 rifle (I thought about getting a Garand but Mosins and K98s are a LOT cheaper and frankly more interesting to me historically).

Anyways, I've heard that when buying Russian built Mosins (91/30s AND M44s) it's more or less random as to whether you get an accurate rifle or not (apparentally a lot of them were badly maintained or something).

Does anyone have any advice. Like I said I have NO expertise on this sort of thing so it's not like I can go in to a store and examine the gun and make up my mind.

Is there anywhere that sells only reliable, accurate Mosins? Note that I DO want to use it for hunting, but I also want to have an authentic "used in WW2" gun because I'm a huge history buff.

Failing that, is there any way to buy a Finnish M39 that was actually issued (maybe even used in the Winter War?)

·
Registered
3,115 Posts
Hey all.

I'm brand new to hunting, guns etc... The only gun I've ever had is a (rather powerful) pellet gun.

Anyways, rather than getting something modern, I was thinking it'd be awesome to get a WW2 rifle (I thought about getting a Garand but Mosins and K98s are a LOT cheaper and frankly more interesting to me historically).

Anyways, I've heard that when buying Russian built Mosins (91/30s AND M44s) it's more or less random as to whether you get an accurate rifle or not (apparentally a lot of them were badly maintained or something).

Does anyone have any advice. Like I said I have NO expertise on this sort of thing so it's not like I can go in to a store and examine the gun and make up my mind.