M39

Discussion in 'The Powder Keg' started by BOHICA1962, May 23, 2008.

1. I have a chance to pick up an M39 with the B barrel and a very nice post war stock with the V shaped fingers in the splice. The stock has several round repairs near the receiver but they're expertly done and don't go all the way thru the stock. The barrel is bright with very good lands and groves.. The cost will be $338. What am I waiting on? I have one almost identical to this one........is the B barrel worth the price? I see some going for $400 and up. Is there a "Rifles anonymous" program for us old guys who got a late start in C$R and are trying to cram 10yrs. collecting into 2-3yrs?:):):):)

2. That strikes me as a little expensive. Then again, both of my M39's were well-used when I bought them, so I'm no expert on pricing. And the B barrel is definitely a plus...

The repairs were done to remove defects at the time the stock was being made; woodworkers in the Nordic countries as a whole don't believe in wasting wood.

3. texnmidwest

texnmidwest Sir Loin of Beef Forum Contributor

That is not a bad price for a B barrel model. I would not hesitate picking it up. I have a Sako B barrel and it is a great rifle.

As for RA club....We tried to start one several times. We found that we were all bad influences on each other and it was best we disband and buy more rifles. LOL!

4. SwedeSteve

SwedeSteve Freedom Zealot Forum Contributor

I would buy it. Tex is fibbing! HE was the bad influence in the group !!

5. We're all bad influences on each other. A few of us are always gathered at the gun store telling war stories and trading insults. Almost always one of us will walk out with a new aquisition whether we went there looking to buy or not. The store owner lets anybody that comes in behind the counter and to play with any of his guns..............makes a lot of sales with this informal atmosphere........

Pat at G$A prices her B barrels at $359-$379 then shipping and transfer.