Gun and Game Forum banner

1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
8 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hey guys Im the newest noob here...ive been looking into buying a 22 for some months now, my best buddy just bought a Ruger 10/22 and its cool. Ive been browsing some Marlin Choices because a few appeal to me.

At first i was way looking into buying a Marlin 917VSF With a Fluted Barel and .17 cal and whatnot. Ive exausted all resources and read and talked to people to get their thoughts, i was really set on getting one when i read that the Clip has tendency to malfunction (which i noticed when i had a problem just loading and unloading the clip in the store while handeling it..kinda tricky) and the Bolt action can also cause some problems and you kindof have to baby the Rifle a bit to get it to work functionally. And Well i split my decision from a .17 back to a .22 which brought me to the Marlin 60SS.
I Really love the black/grey laminated body and really am not interested in the traditional colors (Brown/Black).

So this brings me to where i need some help....i have not had a chance to get out and talk to the folks in the stores for specs on the 60SS. Im hoping you all in here might be able to help me out in terms of its Functionality and gereral operating. Does it have any major Malfunctions that make the rifle not worth buying?
I have heard Marlin kindof has a small reputation for having clips and the action malfunctioning on their firearms but thats why im looking for help.
Ive read up online as much as i can to find reviews for the 60SS and havnent found much help except for a few forum hits...and the only really bad thing ive heard about the 60SS is the Trigger is pretty heavy. But thats pretty minor im my mind i can get by something like that.

So basically does anyone have any info for me on the 60SS, Have you shot one? It worked fine, You like it? Do you know anyone that has one, and their thoughts? Anythign would be appreciated!?!?