Gun and Game Forum banner

1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
8,754 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I know this has probably been hashed over before, but how hard is it to clean your Mosin?

I shot my M-44 about 60 times on Saturday (ouch) and it took me forever to clean it. I used windex first, then dry patches to get that out. Then some spray powder and fouling nitro solvent. Then Sweet's 7.62 which made 40 patches come out blue. It's like they never end. Oh, and I brush it several times, a lot.

The bore looks clean, even shines when I shine a flashlight up into it, but those patches just never come out quite clean with the Sweet's. Am I doing something wrong???? Any ideas, suggestions? I love this thing but is it supposed to take this long?

(I usually shoot rimfires and shotguns and use bore snakes on those. So I guess I'm not that experienced in cleaning centerfire rifles.....):feedback:

·
Registered
4,274 Posts
First off, get yourself a recoil pad; turns a painful kick in the shoulder into a nice little massage. Got mine from G. I. Joe's, the small slip-on rubber one. ;-)

Now, for the cleaning, I just got mine not a month ago and have had similar situations with the blue coming out on the patch... I think it's the solvent removing the bluing from the inside of the receiver, I could be wrong on this, though. It seems that the patch goes through with very little blue on it and then when I pull it back out, it's covered in blue. Oh, I forgot to mention, I go from the muzzle to the receiver and back out with my cleaning rod and use Hoppe's No. 9 kit. I have to go that direction because the cleaning rod can't make it all the way through my 91/30 barrel if I start from the receiver-end.

I'm hoping MosinDave or someone else with some long-term Mosin Nagant experience can shed some light on this, as I'm rather inexperienced, myself. I'm just letting you know that it's not just you. :)

·
Retired IT Dinosaur Wrangler
36,307 Posts