Mosin Nagant Yes or No

Discussion in 'Mosin Nagant' started by Michaelf464, Aug 25, 2010.

1. Michaelf464

Michaelf464 G&G Newbie

Hi im new to the world of being a rifle owner and ive been looking at the mosin nagant , unissued as a rifle to take medium game like goats. I was wondering if anyone knew if it would be suitable?

Ive heard from a few mates that its an all round reliable rifle and accurate enough.

Any advice would be appreciated.

Cheers

2. Mooseman684

Mooseman684 G&G Newbie

It will be fine...It is almost the equal to a 30/06 !

3. Not sure where you are located, but they are a great into rifle and easily obtainable because of the price and availability. They are about $100 here in the US (about 80 euros). If you are in the US they are on sale right now at Big5 for $79.

4. Michaelf464

Michaelf464 G&G Newbie

Thanks mate, yeah ive fired the 7.62x39 cal before so i figured the x54 had a bit of punch any idea if the accuracy is fine out around 100-150 yards?

5. kansascoyote

kansascoyote G&G Newbie

It will drop a goat like a bad habit . Accurate out to 600 yrds

6. Michaelf464

Michaelf464 G&G Newbie

Oh , you ever heard of New Zealand? Yeah they market here for around 250 NZD and come with the sling, bayonet, cleaning kit and all that good stuff, once you factor the exchange rates and stuff thats not to bad. thanks for the advice.

7. Mooseman684

Mooseman684 G&G Newbie

Hunting ammo comes in 180 gr. and 200/205 gr....plenty of stopping power !
    By the way...Welcome to G&G !

8. Michaelf464

Michaelf464 G&G Newbie

Thanks For the welcome, yeah it looks like a prety awsome site, i figured as well because its a military round that FMJ surplus rounds might be cheap for practice?

9. Mooseman684

Mooseman684 G&G Newbie

Our 440 round cans of Surplus used to be 40 bucks...now they are about 90-100

10. blue fox

blue fox G&G Evangelist