Gun and Game Forum banner

1 - 16 of 16 Posts

·
Registered
207 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Wondering if anyone has any experience with the Mossberg Model 500 Field/Deer Combo shotgun? I'm considering it in 20 gauge as my first shotgun. I'm new to shooting and new to hunting. In this area, we have a lot of opportunity to hunt various types of game. I plan to hunt dove, rabbit, deer and possibly quail with this shotgun (shotgun required for deer hunting here). Any input on if this would be a good choice? Any pros/cons to this model from folks who've handled one? Thanks!

·
Registered
174 Posts
Wondering if anyone has any experience with the Mossberg Model 500 Field/Deer Combo shotgun? I'm considering it in 20 gauge as my first shotgun. I'm new to shooting and new to hunting. In this area, we have a lot of opportunity to hunt various types of game. I plan to hunt dove, rabbit, deer and possibly quail with this shotgun (shotgun required for deer hunting here). Any input on if this would be a good choice? Any pros/cons to this model from folks who've handled one? Thanks!
Hey Khahn,
I've owned and used a Moss'y 500 combo in 12 gauge for over 25 years for similar applications. I've gotten my share of pheasant and deer with it, it's a good gun/combo. Last year I got a youth model in 20 gauge for my son's first gun.
Caveats, as I see it (your milage may vary):
Before you buy, if the store will allow, work the action of several guns. Some are smooth as silk right out of the box, some are "tight", stiff and heavy. My action is silky. I inherited my younger brother's (when he married...) and his action is stiff, requiring more effort to work.
After you select a gun, go to the range with several different brands of ammo. I found my gun is finicky with ammo. Some brand(s) will smoke-stack jam, while others feed/eject flawlessly.