Gun and Game Forum banner
1 - 20 of 21 Posts

·
Registered
1 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I just bought a mossberg 500 with a folding stock and a pistol grip. This was all installed in about 2000 when it was new. It also has no papers and I don’t know much about the Safe Act Law. My Grandpa keeps giving me crap because “it’s not legal”. I can’t find any solid answers so I would like to know if this makes it illegal. Also I’m in New York State. Thanks
Automotive lighting Hood Automotive tire Automotive design Motor vehicle

·
Premium Member
5,105 Posts
David,
I give you this information so you can draw your own conclusion, these are from the state on NYs own site....https://safeact.ny.gov/system/files...hat_are_not_classified_as_assault_weapons.pdf

https://safeact.ny.gov/system/files/documents/2020/02/shotguns_banned_features.pdf

While I am not qualified to give legal advise as I am not a lawyer, it does appear that your SG is legal as it is not a semi-automatic...again, do your own research..common sense goes out the window when talking about guns, gun classification and gun classification done by government agencies. You will see no reason why a semiauto SG is considered an AW and the exact same firearm only in a pump action is an AW....it is all bs and meant to confuse...and lead to mistakes= enforcement

·
Premium Member
25,776 Posts
Yep, no papers, Safe Act, etc and you are a new member and 1st time poster on G&G. I would think you should have researched this all and went through the proper channels prior to buying instead of trying to get strangers to possibly give you illegal advice.

·
Premium Member
5,105 Posts
and that state has been Blue more than 10 years, everything fun is illegal unless it is actually a sin.