My New Rem 700 VTR

Discussion in 'The Powder Keg' started by hzrdous, May 3, 2008.

1. hzrdous

hzrdous Guest

I bought the new Rem. VTR today in .308, I started shooting three round groups with 150gr ballistic tips with the average group just over .750, my best group was .548 and my biggest was .821 I figure with the right reload I should at least be at .500 or hopefully under. The only down side is the muzzle break and the stock, I found it to do little for recoil but alot for noise, as for the stock it's not aluminum bedded or anything just cheap plastic, I'm sure that wil be the first upgrade to the rifle. All in All I think It's a cool looking gun with probably average accuracy for not a whole lot of money.

2. I would just glass bed it and make sure the barrel is free floated to pillar bed the gun I think takes a different stock, and if it is the gun i am thinking of with the triangle barrel it may be hard to find a stock to fit it, and those are nice groups for a remington out of the box. I have a model 70 Stealth II that shoots .24 to .34 inch groups, if you subtract bullet diameter the groups are .016 to .116 i think... not bad for a 223 WSSM that everybody hates, but those are great groups from that gun, I really would hand load before you go messing with the rifle it's self because then you might screw up something and it won't shoot worth crap.:sad2:

3. those VTR's look like cool zombie guns

4. yeah, they have appeal to some people but I guess I am more of a traditional gun person, but if it shoots good don't knock it.

5. ManlyTexan

ManlyTexan Guest

What was the range of the target?

6. Ron AKA

Ron AKA Guest

Hopefully not 750 yards with open sights :).

7. HAWKEYE50

HAWKEYE50 G&G Newbie

I had the Rem. Sendero Heavy Barrelled, 300RUM. It had the solid composite stock, not the hollow type. The 300RUM drives a 150gr pill pretty fast, and powerfully. The combination of barrel weight and a solid stock, made for a very accurate platform.