Need help Identifying a Shotgun

Discussion in 'Winchester' started by Sparks, Sep 27, 2010.

1. Sparks

Sparks G&G Newbie

Please bare with me, I am new to this.

I have a Model 1897 Winchester 32 inch barrel 12 Gauge Shot gun, serial number 317006, condition unknown. It has a few blemishes, the for-end part of the wood is cracked a bit, (about 1 inch) but not enough to cause it to fall off. I do not know the last time it was shot, nor could the previous owner.

I believe it is a 32 inch barrel, I measured from the tip of the barrel to where the back of the shell would be had it been loaded.

I was visited oldguns.net and it's database said the gun was manufactured in 1907, I'm assuming this is correct?

It also has a Black Dimond on the stock of the gun, near where the it connects to the barrel, do all 1897 Model shotguns have this or does it signify a higher end series?

I am looking for a guesstimate of its value, granted it needs to be appraised, I am looking for rough ball park, so I am not going in Blind.

Thanks for you help.

Last edited: Sep 27, 2010
  2. Mooseman684

Mooseman684 G&G Newbie

That gun was made in 1906 by serial number.If it has Black Diamond Inlays on the stock, it should be a Black Diamond Trap Model , and the breech block should be marked "TRAP".
    Value depends on ORIGINAL CONDITION, ie, the amount of Blueing,condition of the wood and metal , etc.
    Values run from 350.00 for a 10% gun to 2000.00 for a 95% gun.
    Most are in 40% to 60 % shape and run about 600.00 to 1000.00 Retail.
    Good closeup Pics of the gun could help more with an accurate appraisal.
    Rich

3. kansascoyote

kansascoyote G&G Newbie

Mooseman says the truth . Again .lol

4. Sparks

Sparks G&G Newbie

Indeed

Yes it does have the word "Trap Gun" on top.

I'll try to upload some pictures later, once I find my tripod, every thing is blurry, that I have taken so far.

Is this a common gun? Are certain years more valued or rare?

5. Cyrano