New Enfield owner with some questions

Discussion in 'The Powder Keg' started by Silver, May 28, 2008.

1. Silver

Silver G&G Newbie

Hello all!

This is my first post here, here is my story:

After much deliberation, I finally decided to go out and purchase my first firearm, a No1 MkIII SMLE, dated 1942. I liked it so much, I (much more quickly) decided to get a No4 Mk1, also 1942. Both are in fairly good condition (I think, anyways, I'm still a bit new to this), and the No1 fires quite well (I haven't had a chance to fire the No4 Yet, but I plan to soon.

So, that said, as a new Enfield owner and a new firearm owner, I have many questions, and I thought that I might ask at a couple of online forums to get (at the very least) a few experienced opinions. If you'll bear with me, I'd be very appreciative of any advice and wisdom that any of you Enfield fans care to share.

Questions:

1. While both of my rifles are in fairly good condition, especially mechanically, the stocks have taken some abuse over the years. I've come into possession of a second No4 stock set, and between the two sets I'd like to get one as dent free as possible, clean, even colored, and as close to new/parade condition as possible. The other No4 and No1 stock sets I'd like to clean up as much as possible, but maintain most of the markings and some (perhaps not all...) of the "charachter" they've picked up. Does anyone have preferred stock cleaning/reconditioning techniques thay'd like to share?

2. When I bought my No1 the clerk at the store sold me a bottle of Hoppes No9 Solvent, cleaning rags and a cleaning rod, and gave me a brief rundown on how to clean the rifle. That seems to be working fairly well for me so far, but I have a suspicion that there are other (perhaps more intensive?) cleaning procedures that need to be taken less often, but still occasionally. What cleaning techniques do you use when you fire your rifles?