Gun and Game Forum banner

1 - 20 of 35 Posts

·
Registered
128 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello all. New guy here, I just bought my first gun. I got a Mossberg 12 gauge field/deer combo. I figured it would have a pretty good kick, but the target shells didn't bother me too much. Then I tried some sabot rounds through the rifled barrel. Whoa, now THERE's some KICK!

I'm not a hunter (yet, anyway) but wanted something for home protection. Now I'm looking at all kinds of guns, just because... You probably don't understand that (tongue in cheek).

Anyway, thought I would introduce myself. I'm new to this gun thing. I look forward to reading up on all the different aspects of these things.

·
Registered
20,562 Posts
Welcome to the World of some of the finest folks you'll ever meet, Gun Owners.

And WELCOME to GUN and GAME a site where we can share our interest feller.

Looking forward to seeing you around !!! Thanks for Joining...A.H

·
Registered
170 Posts
Welcome, one great thing about the Mossberg 500 is the accesories. You have a entire slew of aftermarket products readily available. Plus the gun itself is very easy to maintain. Hot loads like slugs, turkey loads, 00 buck will always provide more of a kick, even simi-hot loads such as your normal high brass shot shells will have more of a kick. But I'll promise you one thing, while at the shooting bench your going to say WHOA! When that day a deer, turkey or any other game your using a hot load on. You wont feel a thing. Im using the term hot loosly here. But get you some guns and ammo or any other type of gun magazine and you basic knowleddge will grow quickly.

·
Wonderment :)
33,490 Posts
bunch

Alleydude: Sir; there is a bunch who know about them Mossbergs here. Welcome and share your experiences.

·
Registered
128 Posts
Discussion Starter · #5 ·
Thanks,all. I only wish this Michigan weather would cooperate and let me go out and shoot just a little more. It's FREAKIN' COLD out!

·
Registered
170 Posts