Gun and Game Forum banner

1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Greetings from North Texas:

I just brought home a new Taurus Judge SS with 6.5" barrel. It was NIB and I have not even fired it yet. However, I have cocked it and run it through its rotation quite a few times. As it is cocked and is rotating to the next chamber, the piece that locks the cylinder in place for firing is popping up and is scraping around the cylinder and rubbing a shiny ring around it.

I am new to revolvers but I do not think this should be happening. Am I right about this and should I be concerned. Thank you.

·
Registered
740 Posts
Take it back to where you bought it and have them ship it back for repair on their dime. I had a S&W I sent back twice last year before it worked.

·
Registered
5,065 Posts
Taurus will make it right, take it back to the dealer and point out the problem they'll ship it and get it done right.

·
Registered
20,562 Posts
kR I feel like we are friends..lol..So please don't be mad at me for saying
THANK YOU for changeing your avatar...The muffets just didn't seem befitting to you. LMAO...But this one here doe's. Peace and Love ...A.H

·
Premium Member
1,796 Posts
Well, actually, every one I have seen (including mine) tends to have a line around the cylinder where the lock rides after it pops back up after about 1/2 travel of the hammer. Though noticeable on mine (blued) it can not be felt, but can be seen and I have run better than a hundred and fifty rounds through mine. I am not saying it is okay, I have only seen about a 1/2 doz. but they all had it. I will be interested what your dealer has to say about it. Maybe he can compare with another. Let us know what you hear!!

All that is necessary for the triumph of evil is that good men do nothing

·
Registered
3,792 Posts
kR I feel like we are friends..lol..So please don't be mad at me for saying