New to black powder pistols

Discussion in 'The Powder Keg' started by BIGBADSTU, May 3, 2008.

1. BIGBADSTU

BIGBADSTU Guest

I'm new to this and just bought a used fllipiettan 44 cal. I've noticed that there are a couple of different 44. bullets how do I tell which one I need, and how many grains of powder is best to start with.Are there any powders that are better than the other.Do they make any conical shaped hollow points for hunting?

2. .451 round ball. DO NOT use the same bullets that are used for centerfire loading. 20-30 grains 3f or Pyrodex gependant on frame. open or topstrap

3. Kodiak32

Kodiak32 G&G Regular

Welcome to G&G,

It sounds like you have Elli Pietta replica revolver, I have a couple also.

Here's how I load mine,

Piettea 1858 Remington New Army .451 Ball -24 Grains Pydroex P-#10 CAPS

URBETI 1947 Walker Colt .454 Ball- 45 grains Pydroex P-#10 CAPS

Some people like different Brands of powder, just make sure to get powder rated for pistols and follow recommened loading guidelines.

Here's how I load mine up:

1) Swab the barrel and inside the cylinders with a clean patch, helps remove any storage oil that might foul the pistol or soak up into the powder. Clean the inside of the nipple, pipe cleaners (smoking) working well.

2) Fire percussion caps off on each clyinder ( revolver unloaded ), helps dry the clyinders from oil or moisture.

3) Plan on only loading up five cylinders and use the sixth as a safety. I know that the revovlers have a safety notch, but on a single action revolver that takes some pratice.

4) Pour in the measured amount powder into each (5) cylinder.

5) I put in a Wonder Wad into each (5) cylinder by hand.

*The Wonder Wad does several things, it helps seal the cylinder, takes up space,helps reduce fouling of the revovler and lubricates the barrel.