close

Privacy guaranteed - Your email is not shared with anyone.

New to Enfields

Discussion in 'Enfield Rifles' started by Daemon_89, Jan 11, 2018.

1. Daemon_89

Daemon_89 G&G Newbie

Hey y'all, I'm new to the Enfield game. Was just recently gifted with a ShtLE No 3 Mk 4 or 6 (can't read the Roman numeral, too faded) and I'm trying to find some good reload data for long range. Looking at using Sierra MatchKing 174gr HPBT, but the rest after that is a mystery for me. What's are some of y'all's favorite loads?

Dutch likes this.
  2. Dutch

Dutch G&G Evangelist

CO
    I have the brass and the dies, but never did any reloading for it. I’m curious to know what you end up with.

jerry likes this.

3. jerry

jerry Since 2002 Forum Contributor

USA
    I load a bit for 303 but more general purpose loads.

My own opinion, compared to cartridges like 308, 30-06 etc. the 303 brass can be a bit finicky.

Recommend neck sizing only when once fired in your gun. Some seem to like annealng a bit too to extend brass life a bit.

There are a couple die hard 303 guys here. I’m sure they will have more to offer.

jwrauch likes this.
  4. Big Dog

Big Dog Retired IT Dinosaur Wrangler Forum Contributor

Should be a No.1 Mk.III. Never heard of a No.3.

jwrauch likes this.
  5. runfiverun

runfiverun G&G Evangelist

the pic above shows the no-1 MK-3 [III] and the number-3 pattern-14.
    better known as the P-14 rifles.
    many of the P-14 and no4 MK-1 rifles are marked U.S. property [on the left side top edge of the receiver] as part of the lend-lease act.
    you'll notice how they resemble the US 1917 [Enfield]pattern rifle which replaced the 03A3 style rifles after ww-1.

the mk-III will quite often just have a proof mark, the date, then LE sht, and just III under that without a no-1 designation.
    this will be on the right side of the wrist band above the trigger.

6. mdj696

mdj696 G&G Evangelist