Gun and Game Forum banner

1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
321 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Talk about a TEXAS sized mess! This has been an eye-opening event! I have been prepping for 10 years and still not prepared for a mess like this. I can remember several Texas ice/snow storms but we never lost power. We did lose power in hurricane Carla in 1961 (Houston). Our home in New Mexico is total electric so if this happened here we would be in for a hard time. Here are the basic preps I am thinking.

1. Drain the water lines and water heater, save this water. (prevent freeze damage).
  2. We would move the garage propane heater inside the house and use it to chase the night chill. (use only when we are awake)
  3. Bring the sleeping bags inside the house and use them for additional insulation.
  4. Bring the gas grill inside the garage and use it to cook food.
  5. Use the Colman stove inside to boil water or make coffee/tea.
  6. Use the camping water filter to filter pond water, river water or melted snow.
  7. Melt snow in the bathtub to flush the commode.
  8. Use the generator to operate a convection space heater. (the generator would stay outside the house).
  9. Place the partial filled water jugs in the igloo ice boxes (in the garage) to catch the water if they froze and broke.
  10. Any use of a generator would require the garage door to be locked open about 1 foot to prevent carbon monoxide gas build-up.
  11. Consider adding insulation to the garage doors and ceiling.
  12. Consider adding a supplemental heat source to our home. (wood stove)
Things we are doing right.
  1. We have 9 grill sized propane bottles
  2. We have about 20 gallons of gasoline stablized and stored
  3. Our generator will run on gasoline or propane

·
Registered
5,440 Posts
Some things you might want to review: