Out of State Gun Purchase

Discussion in 'The Powder Keg' started by Krossinc, May 1, 2008.

1. Krossinc

Krossinc Guest

This could be the wrong area to post this, but it was the best I could find since it pertains to a shotgun I am looking to purchase.

My main question is - is it possible for someone to purchase a shotgun/rifle in a state that they are not a resident of. I am a resident of Virginia who is currently residing in Georgia while I finish out school. I do not live here full time and I am actually moving in 90 days back to Virginia. However, due to violent crime that has literally hit home, I'm purchasing a firearm. However, I'm unfamiliar with this stipulation concerning out-of-state purchase.

From what I gather it's legal for me to purchase the gun but illegal for me to transfer it home without going through a FFL dealer. Is this true? Also, is it possible to purchase the gun in Georgia, keep it at my home in Georgia for the remaining 90 days, return to the dealer and have him ship it to a FFL in Virginia for me to pick up? Would that be the proper procedure?

OR am I completely confused and I can not purchase a gun in a state I do not live in?

2. My advice, pay for it but have it shipped to an FFL where you live. You will pay a little more, but you'll have covered your butt.

I may be wrong, others WILL post if I am and if there is a better way. Me though, that's what I'd do. Or I'd wait until I got home and find one there.

Then also, you might not be able to at all. I doubt that though. I'm, sure you can just have to find the proper way. Good luck.

3. Parrothead

Parrothead Guest