P-90 firing pin removal

Discussion in 'The Powder Keg' started by KStretch, May 8, 2002.

1. KStretch

KStretch Guest

One of my co-workers brought in his P-90 and asked if I knew how the firing pin was removed. I have no experience with one of these. Can anyone help?

2. Jesse

Jesse Tradehawker LLC / www.tradehawker.com / Jn 17:17 Forum Contributor

Firing pin removal... p-90

This, in my opinion is the hardest part to remove on a Ruger P-series pistol. I assume no liability or responsibility for the following information. I am not a Ruger armorer. This is for informational purposes only. My experience for the most part, has been with the safety version of the p-90 Ruger.

Now that I've gotton that out of the way... do the following:

Field strip the p-90 after removing the magazine and performing a safety check. This information is in the Ruger manual.

After removing the slide, place it in a padded vice. Remove the rear sight by unscrewing the allen head screw and, using a brass punch and hammer, tap the rear sight out of it's dovetail...(I believe to the left).

Upon removal, (this can be difficult!), secure the firing pin safety and spring which is under the rear sight. Remove slide from the padded vice.

Remove the extractor by engaging the hook with the flat tip of a small screwdriver or a flat piece of hard nylon. Pull forward, canting the extractor slightly, (very slightly), outward. The exctractor should come out in the direction of the muzzle.

The safety version of the p-90 has two safety levers, one on either side of the slide. Before doing the following, you must press down on the firing pin from the slide rear to relieve the spring tension: