Photo Help

Discussion in 'The Powder Keg' started by Para Cassatt, Aug 13, 2010.

1. Para Cassatt

Para Cassatt G&G Evangelist Forum Contributor

I'm somewhat new to taking photos and would like some advice on how to take pictures of small items like cartridges and gun parts. This will be done indoors and I was wondering if a white box with a bottom, back and two sides would help better use the flash or would it create more problems? I really would like to be able to catch as much a detailed photo as possible.

2. BunnyWabbit

BunnyWabbit G&G Evangelist

Depending on what camera you have, make sure you can zoom in close enough and still have it focus. I have a Canon Rebel and bought some macro lenses so I could take pictures of bugs if I want. If the parts are dark, a white background is best. That eliminates any background that will distract from your pic. Most digitals take good enough pics that you may not need a flash. When I am taking pics of small items, I usually light the item from the top, whether it's someone holding a lightbulb above it or taking it under a lamp. Doing this will almost eliminate a need for a flash. The flash causes shadows. I also have one of those pop up white tents for photography. Digitals tend to pick up color from any surroundings and a white box would work fine so long as the box was white inside. If you are taking pics to sell the item, I do graphic design and know Photoshop inside and out. You could PM me and I will give you my email address if you need any picture work done, i.e. lighting, color correction, background cut out, etc. I take a lot of product pics at work, but I have the studio lighting, so I get more detailed. And if I screw up, there's always Photoshop. So long as it's not more than 10 pics, give or take, I don't charge to help someone out. I am just limited on my time is all.

3. oldjarhead

oldjarhead G&G Evangelist

MO