close

Privacy guaranteed - Your email is not shared with anyone.

police trade ins

Discussion in 'The Powder Keg' started by Logansdad, Apr 17, 2002.

1. Logansdad

Logansdad Guest

I've seen an awful lot of good buys out there, especially on .357 magnum revolvers. I've seen Smith & Wesson 686, 66, 65 and 67 models for way less than 3 bills. I saw a Smith 669 (12+1 9mm) for 3 bills plus tax. Gun Tests tried a Colt Trooper, Smith & Wesson 66 and a Ruger Security Six and liked every single one. I think that these are an outstanding choice for personal & home defense.

2. AJY

AJY G&G Newbie

If you're talking about buying police trade ins of these models, be wary. Inspect carefully, being a cop I know how poorly most cops treat their weapons, especially when they are department owned.

3. Logansdad

Logansdad Guest

Yeah, I definitely recommend a good going over. I check out the forcing cone, crane, barrel & cylinder gap. If any of the screws are buggered up it's a sign of the beginning kitchen table gunsmith. Most of these have been carried alot and shot probably just enough to qualify (cops swap out sidearms more often now than in the past... so probably less than a thousand rounds). Just be careful.

4. Logansdad

Logansdad Guest

should I order one ? K Y Imports has S&W model 65 .357 magnum with 4 inch barrel for $220 plus tax and handling and shipping :target:add another sawbuck for hand select

5. azguy

azguy G&G Newbie

Buying a police traid in is like buying a used car that used to be rental; they are simply abused guns. Unless it was a colectable, and only bought as a conversation peice.

6. Logansdad

Logansdad Guest

I ordered a new J Frame with the money anyway.. :target:

7. azguy

azguy G&G Newbie

Good luck I hope it works out for you. Maby it will be a sups weapon.

8. Logansdad

Logansdad Guest

New New New Arizona dude :p

9. trapfreek

trapfreek G&G Newbie