Gun and Game Forum banner
1 - 20 of 22 Posts

·
Registered
589 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I'm gonna be starting up Big-Bore competitions this summer and was wondern what I should do to get my M1 in the same league as the AR-15's that will be used or should I just leave it alone :34:

·
Registered
9,224 Posts
as good as the garand can be, it will not be as accurate as a good AR. i'd recomend you get a book, precision shooting the M1 by Roy Baumgardener( i thinks thats how you spell his name). for 14 or 15 bucks, it has quite a few tricks and tips for improving the M1.

·
Registered
589 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
sweet thanks. sence also I'm a lefty shooter should I custom build the action (while keepin the original) so that I could better shoot the rifle with out having to reach accross to operate the bolt? or what I'm still kinda new with the Garand

·
Registered
395 Posts
Why don't you just shoot a Veteran league with the Garand and buy an AR15 for a "modern" competition???
Rob

·
Registered
589 Posts
Discussion Starter · #7 ·
I dont exactly have the finances to purchase an AR-15. In reality I shouldnt of purchased the M1 considerin that I'm still in college but yeah the team that I'm shootin with is just a genaric Big-bore team and I'm almost confident there will be a few AR15's

·
Premium Member
1,087 Posts
I shot the Garand match once with a rifle in new condition at 200 yard's I hit 7, 10 rings with 4 bulls then the rifle placed a 9, a 6, and then two targets over. It went south and I never figured it out. May have been bad ammo or hand guard got caught and bowed the barrel???