Range Day Tomorrow

Discussion in 'AR15' started by bigkat91, Aug 23, 2010.

1. Tomorrow I finally have the opportunity to get back to the range and finally get to sight in my AR, Savage 110, Marlin 60, and shoot the M24/47 Mauser. I have the guns cleaned, ammo ready to go, need to get some papers(targets), windex and cleaing kit ready. Can you guys think of anything else I should bring. This is my first time at an actual range other than a friends field that we shoot into a hill. Hearing and eye protection is in my cleaning kit. Cheers

2. i'd also take.....

1. a cleaning kit
    2. tape or cloths pins to hold up targets if your range doesnt have any
    3. maybe some tools to fix anything that might break
    4. gun oil
    5. have fun :)

3. M14man

M14man I don't take prisoners... Forum Contributor

Spotting scope to me is essential

4. Darkfront

Darkfront G&G Evangelist

I'd bring a staple gun for pinning targets to the frame, if that's how the range is set up.

I'm a nutjob and carry everything to the range though. Gunsmith screwdrivers, punch set, spotting scope, cleaning kit, thread locking compound, bore guides, boresighter, dope book, ballistics tables, calculator... It's excessive. But I never have a failed range day due to problems.

5. The trip ended up being an almost total bust, because this was the first time at this range. Ending up getting there and there was hardly any target holders... I was only able to set up at 25-30yds and a hundred. Next time ill go ill have to bring(get) some shooting stands. Does anybody have a recommendation? I have been looking at Caldwell's to stands and they seem pretty decent.

6. cr107

cr107 G&G Newbie

I would recommend looking into a home built stand. Easy to replace/repair if hit. Lots of ideas online.

I would also check to see if your range will allow the use of steel framed stands. (my local range does not, due to possibility of a ricochet)