reloading baby steps

Discussion in 'The Powder Keg' started by billy, May 26, 2008.

1. billy

billy G&G Evangelist Forum Contributor

after setting up and using my Dillon 550.
    i am real glad i started out with a single stage and then a turret before taking this one on.
    it wasn't that difficult but i have had over 2 years experience monkeying around with simpler presses.
    for instance i already knew how to set dies,calibrate scales,the basic differences in powders,etc.
    i also already had calipers,scales, reloading manuals,case trimmers,tumbler,primer tray,dies and an assortment of powders and primers
    i will still use the other presses so i didn't throw that money away.
    i was able to swap primers and powders quickly and easily today.
    this is a well designed press but it is a fairly complicated piece of machinery.
    i have read 1000's of pages on reloading but without the hands on experience i would have become somewhat overwhelmed.
    others may be more mechanically inclined but this is my take on it.
    am i glad i bought it?
    boy o boy YES!
    100 rounds in 20 minutes?
    that never would have happened with the other presses.
    the powder and primer delivery systems work wonderfully.
    now all i need are some 38 spl. and 357 carbide dies and a shell plate and i will be completely set up for any thing i care to load.
    the toolheads are a real time saver.
    YMMV
    bill

Last edited: May 26, 2008
  2. Good sound advice Billy. Hoping I don't get overwhelmed. With me, I knew if I didn't get it now, I'd of never had the money anytime in the future to upgrade to the LNLAP Press.