Gun and Game Forum banner

1 - 15 of 15 Posts

·
Registered
1 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I am new to pistol reloading. I purchase some .452 Lead Round nose and they seem to be too big for the cases as they are bulging a bit. I am using a Lee 4 hole turret press with lee carbide dies, winchester primers and Unique powder. Are these the wrong bullets? I hope it is just some adjustments to the dies. Any advice? Thanks.

·
Since 03-15- 2002
27,725 Posts
.452 is a standard size for lead. MAy want to mic the bullet to make sure they are what they say. Check for excess lube, never seen it but could add diameter. Try a different case headstamp, might just be the cases albiet unlikely.
Are you putting the propper bell on the case? It should be just enought to get the bullet to feed into the case w/o shaving the lead or deforming the case.
Have you loaded other rounds on this die set? The sizer die could be built out of tolerance.
I'd be interested in your findings.
Good Luck

·
Registered
1,177 Posts
It's probably your bullets. Like Jerry says, I'll bet they are oversize just enough. Bummer.

FYI - It's not a die adjustment problem.

·
Registered
4,287 Posts
Check to be sure the bullets you have ARE for .45 ACP and NOT Long COlt (LC).

There is enough difference in curvature shape that LC will not chamber in .45 ACP.

BTW, neither of my 1911s will take the .452 diameter (they won't go full battery in the chamber) but only the .451s.

·
Registered
1,851 Posts
I havent used the Lee turret press but I can tell you that if the die isnt set correctly on the Lee single stage it will bulge the cases big time.
It sounds like the crimp or roll crimp isnt set correctly and starts the crimp before the bullet is fully seated. Screw the die body out a turn (more or less) so it doesnt crimp at all and then work with it from there for the final adjustment.
The .452 lead shouldnt be a problem to load but like Dale said, all guns have their favorite bullet.

·
Registered
935 Posts