Gun and Game Forum banner

1 - 16 of 16 Posts

·
Registered
1,818 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
moving my question here. sorry if this has been asked before but I tried the search...

anyway, where can I get bullets & dies for the 7.62x54R. Can I use 7.7mm japanese bullets (since its .311 dia). I don't understand all this metric business too well...I'm a beginner reloader so please be patient :)

I've a ton of nice winchester once-fired brass and I'm not gonna waste it.

edit: I found the dies on midwayusa btw. still don't know about the bullets.

·
Registered
2,220 Posts
Yes you can. Why load when there is so much milsurp out there. Wolf has a match grade round. Most of the stuff is steel cased. I too consider myself as a beginning reloader. Have had some success with 30-06 for my Savage 110. Will be getting into reloading .223 soon.
If you have gun shows, you might find a die set there.
kkb

·
Registered
1,818 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
I got my dies from midway - going to try it out sometime soon. Got .311 bullets.
reloading is fun :)

·
Registered
2,220 Posts
gunssb wrote, "I've a ton of nice winchester once-fired brass and I'm not gonna waste it."
This Winchester brass, what kind is it?

·
Registered
1,818 Posts
Discussion Starter #5
like regular shiny yellow brass (not plated or anything) but its much better than the surplus crap.

·
Registered
2,220 Posts
Guns, Your saying Winchester makes shiny yellow 762x54R brass?
Help me. I'm corn-fussed.
How bout 762x39? They make a ton of it.

·
Registered
1,818 Posts
Discussion Starter #10 (Edited)
I got some winchester 7.62x54R ammo from cheaperthandirt for a lot cheaper than retail (like $10 a box) - the brass is from that. dunno about x39...

also, midwayusa has lapua & norma brass but it looks fugly. And norma brass is $20 per 20! duh - wouldn't I just buy the ammo use it and have nice once fired yellow cuties ???

·
Registered
2,220 Posts