Gun and Game Forum banner

1 - 20 of 25 Posts

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
About a year ago i inherited an 11-48, i know that this gun is in the 1100 family, but i cant find any parts for this one specifically. Especially aftermarket parts. I would really like to have a black pistol-grip stock and forend. Do the 1100 stocks fit the 11-48? Im a newb to remington shotguns so any help or suggestions would be appreciated!

·
Registered
935 Posts
Depending on what gauge it is and the condition it is in...you might be surprised to find out that it is worth something. They're a durn good shotgun. I've been shooting one since the early 50s and it's still going strong. Once killed a deer at a measured 117 yards with a load of 00 buckshot. (Full choke, 30" barrel)

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 · (Edited)
Its a 12 gauge, and its in fairly good condition, father in law took it hunting once maybe twice and then it sat in his closet untill bout a year ago. he bought it new!

That sounds Like a good shot, What size deer?

Do you happen to know anything about sn# of these guns?

·
Registered
935 Posts
I know you haven't asked for my advice, and I ain't gonna' give you any...But...If that was my old gun, from my dad, I'd keep it original. You can always go to some show and pick up a cheap, dependable Mossberg or what ever, and hook it up with all the "Tactical" bells and whistles. I just love how everything is "Tactical" now days. I busted a dude up side his head back in
'66 in Fayetteville, NC, at Rick's Lounge, down on "Combat Alley". My weapon of choice that night was an ashtray. Does that qualify it as a "Tactical ashtray"?
Oh, it was a Doe, during Buck season. But times wuz hard and a man had to do what a man had to do. I ain't sure if it was a "good shot" or an accident or dumb luck. It ate just as good as a legal deer, anyway.