Gun and Game Forum banner

1 - 20 of 46 Posts

·
Registered
11,913 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
The main inhibitor of revolver rifles is flash or even lead from the front of the cylinder harming a shooter's forearm. I started drawing up a design for a top breaking rifle firing from the lower cylinder, which I still think would be kind of cool, but I just recently had a major "duh!", an epiphany of how easy it could be to make a safe revolver rifle.

Just design a forearm to pivot or slide ahead of the action and swing up around the cylinder, covering it, protecting the shooter. There would be some metal shield inside to be cleaned of soot and lead periodically. Then I thought "Oh, this is just making it more complicated" Then it hit me. Just make the cylinder swing out with the motion of the forearm. It makes so much sense I can't believe no one's ever done it yet. Maybe I've found the secret that someone's gonna now steal and patent and never remember a college bum known as BattleRifleG3. Or maybe I'm on crack.

What do you think?

·
Retired IT Dinosaur Wrangler
36,027 Posts
One word - "NAGANT"!

Check out how the M1895 Nagant revolver seals the cylinder and barrel - problem solved.

·
Premium Member
23,774 Posts
wait till he see's a harmonica gun:p

·
Registered
11,913 Posts
Discussion Starter #6 (Edited)
Harmonica gun? Are we talkin a volley gun?

Anyway, here's a concept drawing:

It's a Taurus 14" 44 Rem Mag revolver with a barrel extension to make it legal as a rifle, a forend that covers the front of the cylinder and protects the hand from muzzle flash, and a buttstock that attaches to the grip frame as would a set of grips.

·
Registered
11,913 Posts
Discussion Starter #7
One thing that attracts me to these is that it would be legal to hunt with in a state where semi autos are illegal for hunting. Would also not have to worry about cycling reliability issues of a semi-auto. And a way to aim powerful brushbuster revolver cartridges better than with a pistol.