Gun and Game Forum banner

1 - 20 of 21 Posts

·
Registered
107 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hey yall, I am a newcomer to the forum so bear with me here, haha. I am lookin for a .357 for a sidearm while huntin, home protection, and target shootin also. I want a .357 because of its versatility with .38 sp loads also i am looking for one with a 4" barrel again for versatility of comfortable carrying without compromising too much accuracy. I have done some research but dont know how reliable it is. I have come to believe that overall the S&W model 686 is the best, then the colt python, then the ruger, respectively. I am just wondering from owners or people who have shot and tested any of these guns what their opinions are. I have shot my uncles python and boy is that baby sweeeeet, but i have no other experience with these caliber guns to compare it to. I would basically like some general info such as reliability, trigger pull, comfort, recoil, accuracy, reliability, different load info, and anything else! I want to know as much info as i can to make the right choice because this is a big decision in my mind, price info might be nice too and maybe something about holsters. Thanks a lot and happy shootin.

·
Registered
9,224 Posts
the ruger gp-100 is a good pistol for the money. the colt python is the cadillac of 357magnums, a fine pistol but you will pay for it. i personally dont like smith's so i wont comment on them.

·
Premium Member
23,774 Posts
well the only .357 i own is a S&W M19 4 inch tube. always done what its supposed to do.

·
Registered
11,919 Posts
What are you looking at hunting with it? Is it a backup arm while you hunt with a rifle? For east coast critters a 357 would seem like a good idea. Going north or west I'd look up to a 44. But 357 is definitely the way to go for protection.

I really shouldn't talk though because I don't have a wheelgun and I've never technically hunted. :rolleyes:

·
Registered
107 Posts
Discussion Starter · #5 ·