Savage MK II HELP PLZ!!!

Discussion in '.22/rimfire' started by mntnbkr1968, Aug 30, 2010.

1. mntnbkr1968

mntnbkr1968 G&G Newbie

Ok here I am for more advice. Mostly I lurk but I know y'all know your stuff so here's what I got yesterday.

Picked up a Savage MK II (pre Accu Trigger) for a great price.
    The trigger feels good but not great.
    Any advice on how to improve the trigger?

Also the local WalMart has a Tasco 3-9x50 that I would really like to stick on this gun (dang thing is CHEAP). So what rings & bases do you recommend?
    I love my scopes very tight to the barrel.

The previous owner said it's a fine shooter but he never had a scope on it or messed with the trigger. I really think this will be a good one when I get it dialed in. I will pick up a nice stock when I get the bucks as well.

Dont hesitate to give detailed advice on trigger work. I'm not a novice, I just can't find good instructions in the searches I have done. I can only seem to find AccuTrigger info.

Thanks in advance,

Monty

2. My Savage MK II is a pre accu trigger as well, but the trigger is REALLY nice. The only thing I really did was polish the bolt. Not sure if thats what did it or if I just got lucky. As far as the Tasco scope at walmart...don't get it. I bought one of the 3-9x40s and after 1000 rounds of .22lr it wouldn't hold zero and the reticle broke. I even treated it well..My friend bought the 3-9x50 and his wont hold zero now on his .22. Just a garbage scope. I traded the broke Tasco for a CenterPoint 4-16x40AO scope at walmart and it is now on my .243...and its a great scope. When it comes to optics, you get what you pay for.

3. big shrek

big shrek G&G Evangelist

Shrek's Trigger Primer...

The EASYEST possible thing to do...is also the first thing you SHOULD do with a fresh used rifle.

1. Take the basic components apart.
    2. Take Pics of it all.
    3. Disassemble the trigger group, taking pics of EACH STEP while you do it.