Savage MK II HELP PLZ!!!

Discussion in 'Savage' started by mntnbkr1968, Aug 30, 2010.

1. mntnbkr1968

mntnbkr1968 G&G Newbie

I posted this in the .22 forum as well, wasn't sure...

Ok here I am for more advice. Mostly I lurk but I know y'all know your stuff so here's what I got yesterday.

Picked up a Savage MK II (pre Accu Trigger) for a great price.
    The trigger feels good but not great.
    Any advice on how to improve the trigger?

Also the local WalMart has a Tasco 3-9x50 that I would really like to stick on this gun (dang thing is CHEAP). So what rings & bases do you recommend?
    I love my scopes very tight to the barrel.

The previous owner said it's a fine shooter but he never had a scope on it or messed with the trigger. I really think this will be a good one when I get it dialed in. I will pick up a nice stock when I get the bucks as well.

Dont hesitate to give detailed advice on trigger work. I'm not a novice, I just can't find good instructions in the searches I have done. I can only seem to find AccuTrigger info.

Thanks in advance,

Monty

2. jmp8927

jmp8927 G&G Evangelist

I've only taken one apart. From what I could see, about the only thing that could be done was to stone the surfaces that rubbed. Of course, this was a regular version rather than the accutrigger, so they may be different. It's pretty much the same with all firearms. Carefully take it apart and use the finest honing stone you can find to carefully stone the surfaces that rub against each other. As for the mount, you could always go with one of these.
    EGW Savage Mark II Picatinny Rail Scope Mount FREE S&H 41500, 41502. Evolution Gun Works Riflescope Mounts, Rings & Bases.

3. If you're going to buy a weaver rail like that you may as well get a good one.
    Diversified Innovative Products - Product Detail - Rimfire Scope Mount - $37.97

4. varmithunter

varmithunter G&G Newbie