SF writer needs tips on low-caliber, high velocity weapons

Discussion in 'General Firearms' started by FilWi, Sep 22, 2020.

1. FilWi

FilWi G&G Newbie

Sweden
    Hi everyone,

I'm a writer and in my latest Science Fiction (a spaghetti western in space with magic) I'm doing a semi-realistic treatment of weapon effects (semi because, hey, there's magic!).

I've got a 5 mm submachine gun that I want to penetrate, or at least visibly impact, a stainless steel bar stool. I'm imagining that with a high enough velocity, and the right bullet type, it might be possible.

What say you all - can it be done? If not, what type of caliber/velocity/ammunition do I need?

I'd like it to still be able to do the work of an SMG, i.e. something akin to an MP5 or PPsh, enough to be effective in semi-trained hands in an enclosed environment.

Thanks in advance!
    /Filip

Jaison likes this.
  2. runfiverun

runfiverun G&G Evangelist

high velocity will do the job without any fancy tricks or any magic bullet blessings.
    just get a 50 or 55gr. bullet moving along at close to 4,000 fps and it will easily punch through 1/4" or more of steel.
    the 22-250 and the 220 swift will both get the job done no problem.

noelekal and TXplt like this.

3. runfiverun

and just so you know I'd use the sci-fi moniker not S.F.

S.F. means something/somewhere else [although it too has a touch of fantasy and 'magic' about it] and you just about got told something about 'muzzle control' and basic anatomy that nobody want's to hear.

TXplt likes this.
  4. runfiverun

if you need something specific, I could probably design a small case size that runs at higher pressure to accomplish getting close to that velocity.
    something like a 30mm long 7.62 X 25 case stretched out and necked down would suffice with a lighter 40gr. projectile.

since your in a sci-fi world you could just use a sci-fi type propellant to get there and that'd be your easiest out of the whole thing.