Shrapnel from the range...

Discussion in 'The Powder Keg' started by Benny, Oct 20, 2002.

1. Benny

Benny Guest

Has this ever happened to you guys? I was at the range yesterday shoot at some steel plates about 10 yards out with my Glock 22 and some pieces of one of the bullets I fired came back and struck me in the chest and side. Scared the H*ll out of me most of all but I'm fine other than that. The doc checked me out, nothing penetrated the rib cage but there are a few fragments still stuck in there still that they didn't want to bother with. She said I'll probably set off metal detectors now :rolleyes: So it goes... I've been shooting for almost 18 years now and this is the first gun related injury I've ever had.

Benny

2. Doglips

Doglips Guest

I had a case rupture out of champer on a Marlin modle 60 1x peices of brass hit my wife...never had bullets come back.

3. Klaus

Klaus Guest

steel plates at 10 yards is definitely unsafe. They are supposed to be hundreds of yards away.

4. jerry

jerry Since 03-15- 2002 Forum Contributor

USA
    my mother in law shot a 55 gal drum with a .45 (Ruger) of mine. the 200 grain down loaded SWC came back and hit me. This is while I was trying to instruct her not to do that. everything came out ok. Don't shoot anything that can bounce back, richoche, etc.

5. Uh............

Howdy Benny,

Glad you are still here with us. But I would recommend you not shoot any hard surfaced objects at less than 50 yds from now on. It sounds like the big guy gave you a pass on this one. I'd heed the message.........

:)

6. you're lucky man, i can relate, when i was in Az i was out at Ben Avery and a guy had what looked like a sig in 9mm not sure though, anyhow, he had a hang fire, and as he was clearing it it went off, the round hit my gun box(an old tool box) went through one side, tore open the bottom and exited the bottom right over my foot, sailed over my foot and impacted the concrete and flew off down range!
    -Jesse