Sighting in Scope

Discussion in 'The Powder Keg' started by dd454, May 18, 2008.

1. dd454

dd454 Guest

Hello out there, I am rather new to long distance shooting and was wondering when sighting in a rifle, making adjustments to the scope and such, If I was doing this correctly. I have been making adjustments to the scope by moving the sight to the point of impact. My thinking is that you cannot change the impact of the bullet, just where your scope is aiming. For example if I am aiming directly at a bulls eye at 100 yards and my bullet is hitting 2in. low and 3 in. right should i move my scope down and right or up and left. So my question is are scopes already built with this "opposite adjustment" in mind? or am I doing this correctly? Thanks

2. Steve

Steve Master Gunsmith Staff Member

up and left move the adjustments the way you want the point of impact to go.
    steve

3. turner

turner Guest

I use the same technique as sbowers5. But there is another that some say is as good or better. That's where you fire your rifle at the target, 50 or 100yd, see where the bullet struck, then placing your rifle firmly in your shooting rest, place the crosshairs in the middle of the bullseye again and without moving the rifle, adjust windage and elevation so the crosshairs are now on your bullet hole. Again, I do adjust mine from the bullet hole strike, to the bullseye, and I believe this to be the better method for long range shooting, but the other method is apparently very good as well.

4. billy

billy G&G Evangelist Forum Contributor

i chase the bullet
    put rifle in solid rest
    fire
    adjust crosshairs until they are on bullet hole
    fire
    fine adjust crosshairs
    done!

5. dd454

dd454 Guest

thanks

Thanks guys, im really looking forward to getting some good time on the range in tommorow.