close

Privacy guaranteed - Your email is not shared with anyone.

Since it's so quiet...

Discussion in 'The Powder Keg' started by Steve Redgwell, Jun 21, 2002.

1. Steve Redgwell

Steve Redgwell G&G Newbie

I'll try this. Does anyone here make their own bullets? I don't mean reloading, but the bullets themselves.
    I've been making jacketed rifle bullets for 1 1/2 years and will be selling them to gun shops in the near future. I finished my 165/180 gr .308 prototypes a while back and will be making a .312 bullet too.
    Most people don't do this, but I thought it might make for interesting conversation. Anyone?

Safe Shooting! :nod:
    Steve Redgwell
    303british.com

2. Logansdad

Logansdad Guest

I used to as a boy with my Dad..we would melt tire weights and pour the molten lead into a two bullet mold.

3. Making FMJ

Do you use spent .22LR cases for the jacketing metal? I have heard of this process, but never known anyone to do it.

4. Steve Redgwell

No, I don't use the rimfire cases, but have considered ordering a kit to try. They're available from Corbin's I think. I haven't played with the rimfire jacket maker myself, but it looks easy enough. They're good varmint bullets I'm told. You can either make the cores yourself or order them pre made from Starke.
    The .308 bullet jackets are made for me. I just gave the place my specs and they produce them. It's a local business not too far from where I live. They're a ,030 thick jacket, tapered to .018 inches. I make the cores and have been bonding them.