Gun and Game Forum banner

1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
41 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi fellas and ladies,

This is my first time on this site, I just got activated.

The before I came back to school (Wabash College), I went out and purchased a NIB 1911 A-1 GI .45 from Springfield Armory. I so can't wait to go back home to Texas and get to the range. I count the days. I noticed that someone posted saying something about the Llama .45 ACP, I have recently fired one of these "so-called" 1911 clones and I can safely say that I absolutely hated that weapon. My main gripe is predominately with the magazine, it seemed that the .45 ACP was almost to big for the magazine itself. Another, and perhaps the biggest, was the fact that when I hit the slide release a couple of times the slide didn't go all the way foward. Can someone tell me if this is common on only Llama's or if this happens to all 1911 clone pistols?

Also what do you recomend, if any, in terms of tactical thigh rigs for my 1911?

·
Registered
8 Posts
I owned a LLLLLLLama many moons ago . 1911 style but n 9MM . Beautiful on the outside but it only skin deep . I count not fire 3 rounds in a row because of stovepiping or mag related jams . Or a case stuck in the chamber . But it was cheap. you get what you pay for . A friend around the same time (mid 80's) had a 45 cal with no problems that I heard of .

·
Retired IT Dinosaur Wrangler
36,354 Posts
My shooting buddy tried two .45ACP Llamas some years back, and had serious FTE and feeding problems with both - new pistols too, not used!
He now owns a very good Springfield.
A local gunsmith told us that Llamas were infamous for these problems, and he knew how to fix them - but why should a new-production pistol have to be 'fixed' in order to function? Best to go elsewhere.

That Springfield will serve you well - you'll love it! :)

·
Registered
654 Posts
My Llama Rocks

13 down and 1 up.