Gun and Game Forum banner

1 - 20 of 36 Posts

·
Registered
828 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
I am a student at the wonderful University of Southern Mississippi. Last semester my grades were very poor so this semester I have gone above and beyond to do well in my classes.

Over the week end i came down with Strep-throat "sp" One of my teachers had an assignment due monday which was to be due during scheduled class time.

I was going to try and make it to class, but I was up all night being sick. Unfourtnately I overslept. Once I was awake i ran to my computer and emailed the assignment. It was 15minutes after the class had ended.

I didn't figure he would even notice the assignment being just a few minutes late. But sure enough he did and emailed me saying "No credit, due during class time"

I sent him an email explaining how i was sick and the whole situation, and asked that he please make an exception to his iron clad rules. His reply was simply " Sorry No"

I know that one grade is not going to make or break me in the class, but the point is. I did the questions he assigned and in addition to those I also did all the rest for the entire chapter that he didn't even assign.

Here I am paying this mans salary and all I asked was for credit for the work i did and he is refusing to bend at all. It just makes me sick. I can't imagine telling some sick student, tough luck, when they did the freaking assignment!!!

I guess some people just enjoy making peoples lives miserable.

Have you guys ever had a special stubborn teacher that is more concerned with rules than education ???

·
Registered
1,017 Posts
Sure I have. But you can't expect them to really make exceptions because then they will always have to. I'm studying to be a teacher and I understand why he didn't do it. It has happened to me a few times, but I blame myself really.

·
Devil's Advocate >:)
7,445 Posts