close

Privacy guaranteed - Your email is not shared with anyone.

Tokarev or CZ52

Discussion in 'The Powder Keg' started by amadeus77, Apr 7, 2002.

1. amadeus77

amadeus77 G&G Newbie

I am pretty new to the gun issue but I am interested in the CZ52 or Tokarev. Since they are both the came caliber can you give me some goods and bads about them. Thanks ....
    amadeus77

2. Armorer

Armorer Guest

Why yes I can :)

He is what two CZ shooters told me, the latter just today.

When I was canvasing a gun show for rounds. I asked one guy and he turned to his wife and asked her to tell me what she thought of it.
    She Said : "Nasty little handgun, It won't stay in my hand, keeps twisting sideways. I have to admit, it does shoot good"

Next was a dealer who had one on his bench for sale today.

He said: "Good shooter, great round. One of the few that will still go thru 90% of all vesting made." "Its a ripper, and keeps on going"

Both these folks are gun dealers I met at shows.

You Deside :)

3. GaryG

GaryG G&G Newbie

I've owned and shot both guns. I find that the Tokarev has an uncomfortable grip and I wouldn't shoot one without a slide-on rubber grip. With the $8 slide-on grip the gun is OK. The larger CZ is a bit more comfortable but still below the 1911 or Browning Hi-Power. Here the grip angle is the culprit. Again, a cheap slide-on rubber grip will help a lot.
    As for reliability, both guns are tops. These guns were not made to fail on the battlefield. A word about ammo - there are two types of 7.62x25 surplus ammo around. They look exactly the same. One fires at about 1100 fps and it a good, comfortable load with plenty of power and accuracy. The second type fires at 1400 fps and is hell on wheels. Neither will blow up your gun, but the slower ammo is a lot more fun to shoot. I've stayed away from the European ammo (usually hot) and like to use the Chinese (usually not-as-hot).