Gun and Game Forum banner
1 - 20 of 41 Posts

·
Registered
17 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi everyone,
I am brand new to this and have rarely viewed forums in general. I have a Marlin.22 Model 25 I got in the mid/late 1980's. It is pretty decent. I put a Bushnell 4x32 scope on it last year and had the trigger worked on from being so hard to squeeze. I am fairly pleased with it.

I am not a knowledgeable gun person (I lean toward bow hunting), but I do like to squirrel hunt. I am SURE some have good thoughts on an effective/ accurate/ under $200 .22, and I'd like to hear them.

I would most likely use this gun for squirrel hunting a few months in the fall, and for target plinking with some teenage guys in the Spring to get them comfortable (and knowledgeable) with guns and gun safety.

I thank you in advance for the advice.

·
Resident Sasquatch
9,496 Posts
Hi and welcome to G&G! I'm sure you're going to get all sorts of replies but for my money, I would look in pawn shops and online for one of the Mossberg military training rifles (I believe the model nmbr is 44US). These are usually very accurate and have excellent sights. Another option is one of the Romanian military trainers. These can often be found for under $100. As far as new guns go, many of the marlin and savage bolt actions are pretty good shooters for under $200. Take a look a Gallery of Guns.com - Gun Gallery, Ruger Firearms, Shooter Online Services, Firearm Industry News, Firearm Dealer, Gun News or Impact Guns Home for representative pricing and comparison.

·
Registered
978 Posts
Under $200 is not a lot of money! I like Marlin Model 60's. They sell new in my area for $150 at Dick's Sporting Goods. (a chain store) I do not know if that would be any more accurate than your Model 25. I had a nice Marlin Model 25 that also had a stiff trigger. I sold it to a friend for his son...cheap.