Gun and Game Forum banner
1 - 16 of 16 Posts

·
Registered
6,054 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Well, I just went to the gunshop at lunch with the intent to buy an AK, spending around $650.

5280 Armory here in Arvada, CO (http://www.ak-47man.com/home.html) carries primarily military-style weapons, mostly AK-style stuff and many handguns. A few years ago, they began carrying AR-15 stuff, so they have a pretty good selection of AR's now. LOL, they also have an $8,500 Barret Semi-Auto .50 BMG...lol, any buyers?

Anyway...I have a Bushmaster Varminter. And I have been building an M4 as I can afford it. I had a Bushmaster lower and a standard trigger kit.

After going to the shop, I bought an A3 CMMG complete upper with barrel, it is a 14" w/ 2" permanent flash hider, iron front site and standard ribbed forward stock. I also got a CAA Collapsible stock, and a CAA 3-rail stock adapter.

I also got a UTG 6x32 Rubber Armored Mini Red/Grn Mildot Scope.

All in all, it was $725.

I can't wait to get it all together and take it to the range.

Guess my AK-bug will have to wait a while.

Pics to come later today or tomorrow.

·
Registered
2,129 Posts
I like what you are building better than an AK anyway. I built an M-4 a while back and put an Aim-point on it. I really like it! An AK would still be a good investment.

·
Registered
3,792 Posts
nope you should get an ak before they go sky high or get banned

you can always buy an upper .

but as long as your happy

·
Registered
20,562 Posts
C-I You got a He!! of a deal !!!!! It was your day and don't even give it a 2nd thought later wether or not you should of bought an AK you did better...A.H

·
Registered
6,054 Posts
Discussion Starter · #5 ·
Yea, adding in the cost of the lower I already had, the lower assy/trigger kit and the ergo grip, I will have spent roughly $990. I guess that is an average price for a good AR.

·
Registered
442 Posts
I've bought a few guns from 5280, good people. You still need an AK though.

·