What paint for stucco

Discussion in 'The Powder Keg' started by Sandy Pockets, Aug 20, 2010.

1. Sandy Pockets

Sandy Pockets G&G Enthusiast

I am relatively new to home ownership. I am finding out all the little things that I have to do to keep it nice. The idiots at the HOA for my neighborhood have informed me I need to paint my house. I have until December 15th to do it. What has me PO’d is that I don’t have the money right now to do it. And they don’t seem to care. I have to first replace some of the wood on the fascia then paint the rest of the house. I might even replace all the wood and do it all at the same time since most of it looks like it could go bad soon anyway. Some is really bad and needs replacing ASAP. I have one friend and myself to do all the work.

My question is: What is the best brand of paint to use on stucco? And how much do you think I will need to paint a 1700 sq’ house?

P.S.

If anyone in the Tucson area wants to help I’ll supply the beer. :wink1:

2. srt 10 jimbo

srt 10 jimbo G&G Evangelist Forum Contributor

Why did you move into a House in a Homeowner assc? You can use just about any outdoor paint. just use a thick roller on it.

3. PAPA G

PAPA G G&G Evangelist Forum Contributor

see, i told you guys we needed a DIY forum, but noooooooooo.

i would never buy a house that came with a HOA, bunch of little dictators. but thats too late in this case.

srt 10 jimbo is right about the paint and brush.

4. Sandy Pockets

Sandy Pockets G&G Enthusiast

I liked the house, the hood and I could afford it. HOA's do suck. A DIY spot would be a good idea. With so many people to ask, someone has to have the right answer. :)

5. Lowes Valspar is good paint. I have painted house for 30 yrs. I would suggest a satin or semigloss acylic latex with a llimited life time warranty. It will seal the stucco better than flat, and is more washable. 1 1/4" roller. Start at the top trim and work your way down. Make sure your ladder is secure.

6. kansascoyote