close

Privacy guaranteed - Your email is not shared with anyone.

what scope is on your squirrel .22 ?

Discussion in 'The Powder Keg' started by pappa, Apr 22, 2002.

1. pappa

pappa G&G Regular

;)
    I am considering using a centerfire rifle scope on my .22 Remington bolt action.
    When younger, I could even make head shots on possums under big oaks.
    These days, I have a problem with the darkness under big oaks. I'm thinking about going to a 2.5 - 8 X 50, or even a lighted reticule.
    I know, a BIG scope on a LITTLE rifle may look silly (and certainly ugly to the eye) but I've been hunting squirrels since about 1948, and I need all the help I can get. No, a shotgun is not an option.
    Anyone else found a solution they like?

:cheer:

2. Big Dog

Big Dog Retired IT Dinosaur Wrangler Forum Contributor

I've got a Simmons 2-7X44Mag scope on my Marlin 25MN (.22 magnum). It's got a nice sharp view with the big 44mm objective, and just enough magnification to suit me. A 3-9X44 might suit you better. This combination is very accurate.

:target:

3. pappa

pappa G&G Regular

Hey Big Dog,
    I'm a Florida Cracker too. Born and raised about 12 miles north of Tampa.
    Thanks for replying.
    I might go with what you suggest; got to be better than the old Weaver 20mm .22 variable scope I use now. Hey, maybe I can get some ANTIQUE money out of the Weaver!
    How high ah mounts did you have to use? Also, which scope did you buy?
    I am thinking of getting the BSA Catseye 3.5X10 Illum.Reticle scope that was tested in this month's American Rifleman for my Savage 7mm Magnum. So, I just might look at the BSA 42 or 44mm for my squirrel gun. I bought a Tasco 4X32 Pronghorn from WallyWorld and looked through it early in the morning in my woods. Not enough light, so I took it back (never mounted it). CDNN has them for $15 this month. Great little scope though, out in the light.