1 - 20 of 46 Posts

·
Chief Troll B' Gone
4,625 Posts
.308 would be superior to the .223, it has a bigger bullet, and more energy

·
Registered
11,919 Posts
Pigs and goats in the smae hunt? First I've ever heard of that.

I'm not experienced in either, but my impression was that hogs would be found in denser foliage, at shorter range, and require heavy knockdown. I always assumed goats would be longer range shots, but unlikely to get violent with the shooter.

Good, bad assumptions?

If I had to use one for both my brainstorming suggestions would be a 270, 7mm-08, 7mm Rem Mag, 308, 30-06, 300 WSM, and 300 Win Mag. All depending on your preferences and hunting/shooting style.

·
Registered
23 Posts
i agree with BattleRifleG3 any of those weapons would be more than sufficent for the game you asked about my personal preference 30-06 for pigs but hey what do i know

·
Registered
1,035 Posts
I would use a .30-06. Here's why: In heavy brush, you can get I think 220 grain bullets for awesome knock down power. In open regions, you can go to the 140-150 grain bullets for a flat trajectory.

·
Registered
123 Posts
Ive hunted pigs and Goats in the same hunt in scrubby farm land.

Depends on areas

7mm08 would be good round

·
Registered
2,874 Posts
I`ve hunted wild boar in Germany and i`m here to tell ya, I want all the gun i can get. I used a 30-06 and the results where out standing.
Big boar and little pills don`t mix. IMO.

·
Registered
17,237 Posts