close

Privacy guaranteed - Your email is not shared with anyone.

What's the best manual(s) ?

Discussion in 'The Powder Keg' started by Pauly, Mar 21, 2002.

1. Just shelled out for a bunch of gear from Dillon and, whilst I figure out just what the heck to do with it, I thought I should consider a good manual or two.
    Is there a "be all and end all, you beaut gospel", or do I need several and just mix em' up a bit ?
    I have no experience with this whatsoever.

Thanks.

2. I have Hornaday manuals. It is a two manual set. The first has reloading data for rifle and pistol. The second has bullet drops at different yardages at different velocities for different calibers. It also has a section at the front of the first book that has a lot of details on reloading. I think most of the manuals are good. Good luck. I have reloaded several 1000's of rounds on a Dillon 550 and had good luck.

3. Robert

Robert Member

I have the Speer and it is good as well. I need to get a hornady book. I am waiting before I buy another, as a lot of these books just came out with thier revisions a little more than a year ago, and some of the cartridges I load for arent listed. The Hornady is great, but is missing some of the powders that I use, vs.versa with the Speer. I like to compare loads from different books. Another VERY GOOD ADDITION... is Cartridges of the World, by Frank Barnes, it has basic loads for everything, even obsolete cartridges, wildcats, histories of the firearms. A lot of wonderful info for anyone who want accurate research for all the odds and ends that you might come up with. Answers questions that you wont find anywhere else. It sits right next to my computer with my Speer manual and my Thompson Contender book for research

4. Shaun

Shaun G&G Evangelist