whats the best way to learn to type?

Discussion in 'The Powder Keg' started by Tracer, Sep 3, 2010.

1. Tracer

Tracer G&G Aussie Dad

ok gang i'm gonna take the plunge and learn to type with more than two fingers, and maybe not look at the keyboard.How did you learn to achieve (above a 7 year old kid) speed?

2. 99dragon99

99dragon99 G&G Evangelist Forum Contributor

I can type pretty fast using 4 fingers and the 2 thumbs. There are lots of "learn how to type" programs out there some free ones too. After you get used to where the keys are, lay a towel over your hands and the keyboard, that way you can't look.

3. PAPA G

PAPA G G&G Evangelist Forum Contributor

i had typing in HS, with real manual typewriters, in the Army i was a teletype operator...same principal QWERTY keyboard.

didn't type again for 30 years so i had to relearn alot.

left hand put fingers on asdf, right hand on jkl;' thumbs over the space bar.

then just practice covering 3 rows of keys with each finger like left pinkie covers qaz.

this is just a very simple lesson, but it gets harder. speed comes with accuracy, accuracy is the first thing.

4. Ninja Piper

Ninja Piper G&G Evangelist

Post more on G&G! As they say, practice, practice, practice!

5. ChaZam

ChaZam G&G Evangelist Forum Contributor

I hope you have more success typing than I have. I have the manual dexterity, the hand eye coordination, and the muscle memory that has allowed me to conquer many things. (including several musical instruments) Mastery of typing is not one of those things, and I no longer have any illusions about it.

6. BarryHalls

BarryHalls G&G Evangelist

Here is how I learned to type 80-110 words per minute, while carrying on a conversation and looking the other person in the eye :)

My typing instructor had us do 2 things.

1 Study the keyboard, learn the location of all of the keys, be able to see the layout in your mind.