Which caliber?

Discussion in 'The Powder Keg' started by Synthetic, May 16, 2008.

1. Synthetic

Synthetic Guest

Hi guys, I'm a beginner from New Zealand.
    I would like to get my first centerfire rifle but not sure what caliber and model to get.
    The rifle will be used for:
    40% goat hunting in scrub
    40% goat hunting in open country
    5% red deer hunting in open country
    10% pig hunting in scrub
    5% informal target shooting/practice/sighting in

I want a rifle that has:
    -Low noise
    -Low recoil
    -Low ammunition cost

At the moment I'm looking at the Ruger M77 Hawkeye in either .223 or .243.
    Is that a good rifle?
    Please note that ammo cost is very important to me, and I will be reloading in 6 month.

Cheers

2. lefty o

lefty o G&G Evangelist

mn
    i'd opt for the .243.

3. Mooseman684

Mooseman684 G&G Newbie

Of the 2... the .243 !

4. wily1

wily1 G&G Addict Forum Contributor

I love my .223 but then I have other larger caliber rifles. For what you want to hunt a .243 is the better round.

5. First , I gotta say welcome and second I gotta agree with the others the 243 would be the better choice, and yes the Ruger M77 is a nice gun.

6. EHCRain10

EHCRain10 G&G Newbie

First off welcome to the forum, dont afraid to ask questions everyone here is extremely helpful
    i would vote for the 243win with the size of game that you will be hunting the 223 would be a little on the light side for a quick and clean kill

7. TexasT

TexasT Devil's Advocate >:) Forum Contributor Forum Contributor

What about any other calibers than the ones he mentioned?

8. Ron AKA

Ron AKA Guest

I also would agree with the .243. Would seem to fit your specific requirements very well. Some may suggest you need a bigger bore for the brush, but unless you go to a 12 guage slug, all centerfires are not going to take to hitting twigs very well.